Greek Chicken Burgers at the Farm

The weather around here has been beautiful. The birds are out, the sun is shining, and one of my favorite places to be in the summer is at my soon-to-be-in-law’s farm. I love the animals, the land, and just the feeling I get being there. The smell of fresh-cut grass and hay fill your senses and a sense of calm runs over you. I love the farm. I dream of a similar future.

My mother-in-law-to-be uses her animals for petting zoos, pony rides, and education lectures..etc. My dream is to raise chickens, turkeys, pigs and beef cows to feed my family and plant a large vegetable and herb garden. Some day.

We were invited for dinner, but I quickly decided I would bring dinner to them! I had been wanting to make chicken burgers for a while, and considering they have a grill, I knew that was what I wanted to make. But what kind? The possibilities were endless. I am not sure where the Mediterranean idea came from, but I am sure glad that’s what I chose!

They were moist and delicious! I made a dill tzatziki as a topping that was absolutely wonderful. The tangy yogurt and lemon juice paired perfectly with the creamy feta and lean chicken.

Chicken Feta Burger

Ingredients:

  • 1 # ground chicken
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 T diced red onion
  • 1/2 C feta cheese (some juice okay)

Procedure:

Mix all ingredients together gently until just combined. Score meat to get 4 approximately 1/4# burgers.

Traditionally tzatziki does not include dill,but I love dill and feta cheese together, so I added it to mine. You certainly could leave it out of yours and still have a tasty topping for your burgers!

Dill Tzatziki

Ingredients:

  • 1- 5 oz container fat free Greek yogurt (plain)
  • 1/4 C light sour cream
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 T fresh dill
  • 1/2 C julienne cucumber
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients until combined. Use as much or as little on your burgers as you’d like. I found this recipe to yield the perfect amount for 4 burgers.

Grill your burgers until internal temperature reaches 170 degrees. I used wheat kaiser rolls from the store for these, but you could use any roll/bun/bread you’d like.

I sprinkled some more feta and diced cherry tomatoes on our burgers and topped them with a small amount of mixed field greens.

(Insta-burger) ;]

We had our burgers with roasted asparagus, but a nice Greek salad or any grilled or roasted veggies would be a great accompaniment to this summer-time treat!

The Girl With the Cupcake Tattoo

Comment

