Chocolate Chip Cookies (not your grandma’s cookie!)

So sorry for the lack of posting the past two weeks.

So much has been going on, and life has been speeding past. Summer seems to be in full bloom even though it should still be spring, and many trial and error happenings have been coming out of my kitchen. (Mostly error.) I attempted a strawberry tart that was a big flop, as well as banana/nutella ice cream that was more like banana Italian ice. Hmmpf.

However, I have come to you with a recipe from the Gods. Well, okay it’s from the internet, but may as well be from the heavens. Because I am in heaven. I can’t tell you how many desserts I have eaten in my 20 years, but I can tell you one thing. Above all, chocolate chip cookies reign supreme in my book. Let me correct myself. Really, really good chocolate chip cookies. And strawberry rhubarb pie. Mmmm. Anyway, I have never been able to make those really, really good chocolate chip cookies myself, and have been on the prowl. I always made cookies that ended up tasty, but flat and spread out. I knew some day I would find the cookie recipe of my dreams. Today is that day. Today is the day the hunt ends, and I can shower myself and loved ones with chewy, crispy, crunchy, melty, cookies–and you can too.

This recipe comes from Not Without Salt although I did change a couple of things.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks butter
  • 1/2 C. raw sugar*
  • 1  3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 2  eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 3  1/2 cups AP flour
  • 1  1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 20 oz dark chocolate chips

*I used vanilla raw sugar. You can make vanilla raw sugar at home by splitting a whole vanilla bean and sticking it in 3 cups of raw sugar. You can use this in baked goods, coffee and tea, or for sprinkling on top of pies.

Procedure:

In a stand mixer cream butter, salt, and both sugars. Beat on medium for 5 minutes. Scrape down sides of the bowl, and add eggs, one at a time, combining completely after each addition. Add vanilla. Whisk flour and baking soda with a fork, then add to sugar and egg mixture. Mix until combined. Stir in chips by hand, and portion on cookie sheet. Sprinkle tops with sea salt and vanilla sugar and bake at 350 for 14 minutes.

I promised myself I would only eat one cookie, so I made it count. ;)

These cookies are amazing right out the oven, but given time to set up, they gain a crunchy bottom, that in my opinion makes the whole cookie experience. Now go preheat your oven!

The Girl With the Cupcake Tattoo

Comment

