“Have your cake and eat it too…”

I really don’t believe we need days like Mother’s Day, Valentine’s Day, Father’s Day, and the like, to show someone you care for them. We should let the ones we love know how we feel each and every day.

Live each moment like it will be your last, and take chances, because “you miss all the shots you don’t take.” Take time to call your mother every day, and tell her you love her.

Give your husband or your wife a hug, or sneak a kiss when they are least expecting it, and please–always save room for cake- even after breakfast. ; )

With all of that being said- we still do fall into the trap of “Hallmark holidays” and I suppose it really doesn’t hurt to let someone know they really are more appreciated than they perceive they are to be.

Unfortunately, Working in a restaurant only means one thing when it comes to these holidays: You’re working. I was lucky enough this Mother’s Day to not have to be in until 11:30 am, so I would be able to enjoy breakfast with my mother as well as my future mother-in-law. I knew going to a restaurant on Mother’s Day for breakfast was not an option, so I decided to make a few things at home. I went with my standby of Quiche, and then it went all crazy from there.

This is what went down. ;)

 

I made this insanely decadent, delicious chiffon cake using Rosie’s Dark Chocolate Chiffon Cake recipe. I also used her frosting recipe, except I replaced the rosewater with raspberry extract. It was heavenly. It was fluffy, rich, and not too sweet.

 

Although this cake was rich and scrumptious in all the right ways, I would have to say the highlight of my Mother’s Day brunch was definitely my Carrot Cake Pancakes. I was going to make a carrot cake, until I decided I really wanted to make the aforementioned chiffon cake as well. I thought about it, and decided to come up with a recipe for carrot cake pancakes so all of us could have our cake and eat it, too! ;)

 

Carrot Cake Pancakes with Pecans

(This recipe will yield approximately 20-25 cakes)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 5 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 C white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2  1/4 cups milk
  • 6 T vegetable oil
  • 3/4 C shredded carrots
  • 1 C chopped pecans  (optional)

Procedure:

Place shredded carrots in a microwave-safe bowl. Nuke on high for 2 minutes, to cook through.

Combine dry ingredients (minus pecans) and stir with a fork to mix. Add wet ingredients and carrots. Heat skillet and spray with canola oil or cooking spray. Place two cakes in skillet and sprinkle with chopped pecans.

Flip when tops become bubbly. Cook through.

Enjoy the heck out of ’em with tons of maple syrup (or not) and then make another batch and share them with your mom, or dad, or neighbor, or colleague. Make someone smile.

 

The Girl With the Cupcake Tattoo

 

Comment

