Simple Pleasures

If anyone is guilty of over-spicing, complicating, and salting food– I would be the culprit. But I am changing, I swear.

This, this is the perfect example.

Have you ever had the craving for simplicity? To cleanse, and to open up, refresh.

After a few days of spring cleaning, and emptying our fridge and pantry of anything nutritious, it was time to go grocery shopping.

I had been craving something simple, something wholesome, something delicious.

I wish I had pictures of my deliciously simple roasted chicken next to the velvety smashed garlic butter potatoes, and pan roasted asparagus, but I don’t.

Instead of plating my dinner and enjoying it with the company of my handsome counterpart, I ripped the legs and thighs off of the bird like a starving, carnivorous barbarian.  I sunk my teeth into its crispy olive oil-laden skin and sighed with content. The moist, flavorful chicken was the answer to my simple prayers. Troy agreed exclaiming between bites, “This is the most flavorful skin I have ever had.” I am now realizing out of context that statement is quite odd. I digress. This is what I prepared.

Garlic-Herb Roasted Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 1 small chicken
  • 1 bunch flat-leaf parsley
  • 1 oz fresh thyme
  • 1 lemon, cut in quarters
  • 2 T minced garlic
  • sea salt and pepper
  • 6 T olive oil

Procedure:

Rinse chicken and place in roasting pan, pour 3 tablespoons of oil on the bird, then coat with approximately 2 teaspoons thyme, garlic, and salt and pepper to taste. Pour remaining oil on top. Place lemon wedges, remaining thyme, and parsley in the cavity of the chicken. Roast uncovered in a 400 degree oven, about 1 hour. Remove chicken from oven and carefully pull out contents of cavity. Carefully squeeze hot lemon wedges over chicken.What you do next is totally up to you.

Indulge in simple pleasures, life moves too quickly not to.

The Girl With the Cupcake Tattoo

Comment

