Potato-Bacon Chowder

When its the week before finals, and its raining outside, I really don’t want to be in school. So I left. If I looked at another algebra problem, I may have exploded. No, really-explosion! I failed algebra last year, which is one of the two reasons I didn’t graduate. BUT, with all the luck I can get on my side, I shall be graduating in 2 weeks.

But anyway—it was rainy, and I was cranky, and didn’t want to do algebra so I continued on my drive home into town, and went to the grocery store. It is always an omen when butter AND eggs are on sale in the same week. Bake something. Bake something today. Bake something now.

So I did. But first—I made dinner.

Potato-Bacon Chowder

Ingredients:

  • 2  1/2 # White Potatoes
  • 3 Celery Stalks
  • 5 Carrots
  • 1 Large Vidalia Onion
  • 1 tsp Olive Oil
  • 1 # Bacon
  • 1/2 C Flour
  • 4 T Butter
  • 2 1/2 Quarts Whole Milk
  • 2 Cups Half and Half

Procedure:

 

Heat a large stockpot on medium, and add bacon, chopped into small pieces.

I find the easiest way to chop raw bacon is with kitchen shears, right into the pot.

While bacon is rendering, wash and chop vegetables. You can put the carrots, celery, and potato together, but leave the onion seperate.

Make sure vegetables are cut into uniform pieces. I like to leave the vegetables quite large in the chowder, for texture.

The bacon should be close to done at this point,another reason I like to pre-chop the bacon–it cooks more quickly.

YUM! There are not many things I enjoy more than the salty, smoky taste of bacon!

When fully cooked, drain about 1/2 cup of bacon grease from the pot, and discard, leave what is left in the pot. Add chopped onions and cook on low until translucent.

 

Add other vegetables and then add milk and half ad half.

 

Cover and bring to almost a boil. Make a roux with the butter and flour in a small pan. Add to chowder and whisk until combined. Simmer on low heat for 2 hours. Serve, and enjoy.

I drizzled a little bit of flavored olive oil over the top. Mmmm.

 

Then, I made the most decadent chocolate brownies, ever. BUT, you’re going to have to wait until tomorrow for that. ;)

The Girl With the Cupcake Tattoo

Comment

