Beef Burgers with Carmelized Onions and Gorgonzola

You have to make this meal. You have to. The buns are crunchy, the burger is moist, sweet and creamy onions and tangy gorgonzola top it off, making it one of the best burgers I have ever eaten, seriously.

Yup. 8 oz. That is half a pound, I know. It is sinful, gluttonous–I know. I apologize, sort of–not really.

Well, here is what I did with this half-pound of deliciousness.

Beef Burgers with Carmelized Onion Spread and Gorgonzola

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds lean ground beef
  • 2 large Vidalia onions
  • 8 T gorgonzola crumbles
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 4 ciabatta rolls

Procedure:

I read somewhere that the reason your eyes burn and water when exposed to onions was because the cells in the onions like moisture, and your eyes are usually the closest moisture source.

I have no idea if this is true or not, but I usually soak my onions in water to give them a moisture source besides my poor eyes.

Peel and slice onions. Soak in water, if you wish.

Carmelize onions in olive oil until lightly browned, continue cooking until cooked almost to a pulp.

Set the onions to the side.

Portion beef into 8oz. portions, and form into large patties.

Place  burgers into pan that has been heated on medium-high. Cook until browned on both sides, and cooked through to your liking.

Toast ciabatta rolls under broiler. Spread onions on the top half, place burger on the bottom half. Sprinkle 2 T gorgonzola on each burger. Place under broiler to melt cheese.

Say a prayer for your gluttonous soul, and enjoy.

Chipotle-Garlic-Parmesan Steak Fries with Garlic-Blue Cheese Dip

Wash and scrub potatoes. Cut into wedges (about 8 per potato) and soak in water. Pat potato wedges dry, and coat with chipotle oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Place on tray and bake at 425 degrees until both sides are brown and crispy.

While potatoes are hot, toss with 1 tsp minced garlic and parmesan cheese to taste.

I prepared a simple, yet delicious dipping sauce for these fries.

Combine 2 T mayonnaise, 2 T Blue Cheese dressing, 1 tsp chipotle oil, 1/8 each salt and pepper, and 1/2 t garlic powder.

Combine these three things, and I’d say you’d have one hell of a meal, because I know I did! ;)

The Girl With the Cupcake Tattoo

4 comments

  1. Friggen awesome !

  2. Oh man! Eyes watering or not, this looks SO DELICOUS! Every step of the way!

    1. Thank you! :) My eyes did burn, however, it was more than worth it! ;)

Comment

