Spring Fever…

Pistachios are one of my favorite snacks of all time.

I have vivid memories of sneaking into my parent’s bedroom where my dad kept a plastic “bulk bin” grocery bag of red stained pistachio nuts. I loved their vibrant color, the fun of cracking open those tough little shells, and finally– the salty, nutty taste only a pistachio can provide.

Now, when I go to the store for my favorite childhood treat, I make a B-line for the shelled variety. They may be more expensive, but I am willing to pay for convenience for a few items–and this is definately one of them.

Since the warm weather is teeter-taughtering on thin lines with 80 degree weather one day, and snow warnings the next, I knew that some ice cream was sure to bring the Spring spirit around here.

Pistachios + Ice cream = Heaven.

Roasted Pistachio Ice Cream

Ingredients:

1  1/4 C. Pistachios (shelled)

1 C. Sugar

5 C. Half and Half

12 Egg Yolks

2 T. Water

1 T Light Corn Syrup

 

Procedure:

Lightly toast pistachios over medium heat in a dry skillet until they become fragrant. Be careful not to toast too much, toasted pistachios can end up tasting more like almonds. Remove pistachios and wipe out your skillet. Place 1/2 C sugar, water, and corn syrup in the skillet and bring to a boil.

Boil for about 3 minutes, then add in toasted pistachios.

Once the nuts are coated, remove from pan and let cool.

While pistachios are cooling, bring the half and half to a boil. Next, combine 1/2 C sugar and egg yolks. When the half and half comes to a boil turn the temperature to medium. Add 1/2 C of half and half to egg mixture and stir quickly until combined. Add egg mixture to half and half  slowly and stir quickly.

Once all ingredients are incorporated, stir until the custard becomes thick (but not too thick) about six minutes. To test your custard, do a spoon test. If the custard coats the back of the spoon, you are done, and you can take the custard off of the heat.

I strained my custard three, yes three times through a fine metal sive. Then, I ground my pistachios in the food processor to a medium size grind. You can grind the pistachios as large or as small as you’d like. I enjoy the texture in my ice cream, so I wanted them fairly large.

Add 1 C. processed pistachios to custard base and pour into a large bowl to be cooled. Place a layer of plastic wrap directly onto custard so a skin can not form. Chill for three hours.

When custard is cold, churn in ice cream maker as per manufacturer’s instructions. Place ice cream into a bowl with a lid until completely hardened.

Scoop up, garnish with pistachios, and most importantly–enjoy!!

 

The Girl With the Cupcake Tattoo

 

 

 

 

3 comments

  1. pinkunoneko · · Reply

    It was delicious! Btw I think you should make a lava cake post ;)

    1. Thanks! Hmm, okay! I’ll add that to my list! :)

  2. thanks for the tips..i tried them and they were great:)

Comment

