My Dad’s Birthday (and Cupcakes!)

Yesterday was my Dad’s 63rd birthday.

It is not a secret that my father and I have not always gotten along. Besides this fact, I still try to do what I can to make peace. In this case, it was make cake for his birthday. Well, actually, my plan was to make a pie, but that didn’t end up happening.

I know hat my dad always complains that desserts are “too sweet” I know, weird right? I guess I understand (a little). So I came equipped with a gift card to the Orange Cat Coffee Company, and these bad boys…

Dark Chocolate Cupcakes with Meringue Frosting and Sweet Coconut

(Whew! That’s a mouth-full.)

My favorite-“go to” chocolate cake recipe is the one on the back of Hershey’s Cocoa Powder. It is super moist–not crumbly like some cakes and because it uses oil instead of butter so it is quick and easy to make. I usually use half “regular”cocoa and half “Special Dark” cocoa. For these cupcakes I used all “Special Dark” and they were super chocolatey  and rich!

I picked out these bright blue cupcake liners from Bake it Pretty because they stand up to the dark color of the chocolate cake (some liners fade when baked and espceially with chocolate cake you can no longer see their colors or patterns.)

For these cupcakes I made the recipe as they explain on the cocoa powder. You can use whatever chocolate cake recipe you like best. I then snuck three little bitter-sweet chocolate wafers in the center! Mmmm.

Bake until just set and move to a cooling rack.

My favorite part of these cupcakes was the frosting and the coconut. I used Martha’s “Seven Minute Frosting” and it came out shiny, smooth, and delicious! Here is her recipe..

Seven-Minute Frosting

Ingredients:

1  1/2 C Sugar plus 2 TBS

2/3 C Water

2 TBS Light Corn Syrup

6 Large Egg Whites*

Procedure:

In a small sauce pan combine the 1 1/2 C sugar, water and corn syrup. Carefully, (hot sugar is extremely dangerous) bring to boil and without stirring bring to 230 degrees.

With your whisk attachment on your stand mixer beat egg whites to soft peaks–do not over-whip. Add 2 TBS sugar to the whites. When syrup comes to temperature –quickly (and carefully) add to the sugar mixture in a slow stream down the side of the mixer bowl while on low-medium speed.

On medium speed, whip the frosting for approximately seven minutes–until the bowl is no longer warm to the touch. Use this icing immediately as it begins to set and harden fairly quickly. I had my bowl of shredded sweetened coconut standing by. Load up a disposable pastry bag with your frosting and liberally pipe frosting on each cupcake.

Dip cupcakes in coconut, careful not to press too hard and squish the tops of your pretty little cakes.

I adorned each of my cupcakes with a small chocolate wafer. These cupcakes are light, not overly-sweet, with frosting that melts in your mouth.

Ready to go to my parent’s in my cupcake carrier.

Transporting cupcakes is SO easy with one of these babies!

Enjoy with a nice hot cup of coffee, or gobble up with a glass of milk!

The Girl With the Cupcakes Tattoo

Comment

