The Ham Bones Connected to the..

What to do, what to do…. with leftover Easter ham? OOO! I know! Make soup!

Split Pea and Ham Soup

Ingredients:

1# Dried Split Peas
1 Ham Bone*
3 TBS butter
1 C chopped yellow onions
1/2 C chopped celery**
1/2 C chopped carrots
2 tsp minced garlic
1 # ham- chopped
1 tsp salt
1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
10 Cups water
2 bay leaves
1 tsp dried thyme

*If you do not have a leftover ham bone from a spiral ham-you can purchase ham hocks at most grocery stores and replace one for the bone in this recipe, or invite some friends over and have a ham dinner!

**I did not have any celery in my fridge (I blame Troy and his late-night peanut butter and celery binges) so I used 1/2 tsp of celery salt to replace the flavor of the celery and only used 1/2 tsp salt in the soup

I picked up my split peas this past fall on a weekend trip to Seneca Lake. I try to make one trip a year because I grew up vacationing there as a child (In Geneva–and I have so many fond memories there).

A few years ago, when I took Troy to Geneva we walked around the small town and stumbled upon this little gem. Now, I can’t make a trip therewithout stopping in. Last time I was there I got my split peas, some dried lavender, and cocao nibs.

Procedure:

Put dried peas in a large bowl or pot and cover with water. Let soak for 8 hours (or over night). Drain. Reserve.

Melt butter in a large stockpot and add onion, carrots, pepper, salt, garlic, and celery (or celery salt), bay leaves, and thyme. Cook vegetables on medium-low until onions become translucent and fragrant. You do not want to add color to the veggies.

I chopped my ham in small pieces, and trimmed all fat and skin off.

Add the chopped ham and brown slightly. Add drained peas. Slowly add water and carefully plunk (like that word? Yeah, me too.) your ham bone in the pot.

Cover and bring to a boil. Let simmer until peas become soft and break apart, approximately 3 hours. Remove ham bone and bay leaves. Spoon out, and enjoy!

The Girl With the Cupcake Tattoo

Comment

