Sunday Brunch (broccoli + cheddar quiche)

 

Living on the farm has been kind of fun–even though I have yet to do some real farm chores–but tomorrow will most likely be the day for that. I love waking up at 6am to the sounds of roosters crowing, a cow “mooing”, and a donkey braying. I look forward to looking out the window to see land, and a coral of happy horses- lingering through the shallow grass looking for new bits to gobble up.

Lately, my days have been so full of “work” work, and volunteer work that I haven’t even had a moment to myself. Between the farm, the cafe, the bistro, and the fire department–I am clocking in over 60 hours of paid work and 10 hours of volunteer work every week.

I am exhausted, to say the least–but every Sunday I look forward to relaxation, and more importantly time with my loved ones.

Brunch. A meal created for Sundays and in my case–people who enjoy sleeping in and spending the late morning cooking and baking up delicious food that could be consumed for one meal or the other.

I invited my mom over to the farm and I made a small, but lovely and well-rounded brunch for Troy and our mothers.

My personal “go to” brunch dish is a simple Quiche. I love Quiche because you can put almost anything in them. Salty meats such as bacon, ham, or pancetta, mixed with creamy cheeses make heavenly Quiche. This Quiche, however contains no meat at all but is still just as satisfying. I changed this one up a bit by adding cheese and butter to my pie crust-instead of straight shortening like my usual recipe calls for.

Try making this Quiche for your next family relaxation day, and I would be willing to bet, no one would complain.

Broccoli-Cheddar Quiche

Ingredients:

(crust)

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1/4 C. cold shortening
  • 2 Cups AP flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 C finely shredded cheddar cheese
  • cold water

(filling)

  • 6 whole eggs
  • 1 1/2 C whole milk
  • 1 C shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 large head broccoli–cut into small florets
  • 1/4 C onion–diced small

Procedure:
Cut butter and shortening into flour and salt. Once pea-sized pieces are formed, gently mix in cheese.

 

Slowly add just enough water to form dough into a ball. Flatten, cover, and refrigerate for 20 minutes. Once chilled, press dough into a deep 10″ pie dish.

Mix eggs and milk with a whisk or fork until foamy. Stir in broccoli and onion. Pour filling into prepared crust, and bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Carefully pull Quiche out of oven and sprinkle cheese on top. Bake until just set, about 30-40 more minutes. Let cool slightly to finish setting up. Slice, and serve warm.

YUM!

I also made a very simple and light yogurt/fruit bowl. Mix 4 cups of plain non-fat Greek yogurt with 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1/3 C powdered sugar, and a tablespoon of honey. Serve with berries or fruits of your choice. I chose the classic combo of strawberries and bananas. I kept the fruit separate from the yogurt so each one of us could add much or as little fruit as desired.

Sundays really are meant to be spent free, full of good food, and family. I am so grateful for the family that I have, and the family I am marrying into. I couldn’t ask for better people to share a new last name with.

 
The Girl With the Cupcake Tattoo

One comment

  1. I’m a quiche fan and really…who doesn’t love broccoli and cheese!? Beautiful! :)

Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

