Love (and cake) is in the air…

Because that’s what friends are for.

Yeah, I know–remember when I told you how much I HATE cake?

Well…

Most of my week last week was spent making this cake (and cookie-pop favors) for my one of my childhood best friends. This wedding was a long time coming, with many hurdles and bumps along the way. I know the cake wasn’t perfect, but I am very happy with the way it turned out.

I am so glad I was able to be such a huge part of Amber and Andrew’s big day!

I used this recipe for the white cake, and my go-to recipe for the chocolate (the one on the back of the Hershey’s Cocoa box). Amber and Andrew chose a coffee buttercream* for in between these moist and decadent cake layers. I covered the cake tiers in vanilla buttercream and adorned the sides with buttercup flowers made with this amazing marshmallow fondant!

*To make coffee buttercream mix instant coffee granules with just enough water to saturate them. Mix into vanilla buttercream until desired flavor is reached.

Congratulations Andrew and Amber–I love you guys, and I wish you many, many, many years of happiness and cake!

The Girl With the Cupcake Tattoo

One comment

  1. OMG. you make such lovely bakes! Yummy! =)

Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

